“The Last Lecture”

Above is the link to Randy Pausch’s inspirational speech that his book, “The Last Lecture” is written about. If you want to be inspired, moved or feel renewed, I’d recommend reading Randy’s book!! But of course, if you’re not the reading type, watching this video will be well worth it. The book is filled with inspiring words and stories that make you want to get out of your bed and make an impact on the world. It is so easy to fall into routine and forget about an important thing, YOU ARE ALIVE! You are breathing, you are feeling, you are taking in your surroundings and this may not seem like a lot to you now, one day you could have wished that you took advantage of the seconds. The book reminded me just how much I need to appreciate the people in my lives, the opportunities I am given and the resources that surround me. It is so easy to not think about how much the people you love are worth to, you take for granted that they are not always going to be there. They are not always going to be there to ask how your day was, to give you a hug when you come home or to say that they love you. Sometimes it takes not knowing the worth of something until it’s gone, but we should try to limit these feelings because why would we want to waste time when we have so little? A few inspiring quotes that will stick with me forever are:

“When you’re screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore, that means they’ve given up on you.”

“Time is all you have. And you may find one day that you have less than you think.”

The first quote is something that has definitely changed me. Unfortunately, I can be sensitive when it comes to criticism because I take the approach that someone is telling me something negative because they do not like me. Obviously, there is a thing called constructive criticism Sarah!! But for real, it shows a lot when someone cares enough to point you on your way. It is always nice to have a Dutch uncle (someone who tells the truth, no matter what) because you can rely on them to give you a straight answer even if it means hurting your feelings. We sensitive people have to look at it from the big picture, one moment of feeling down is better than never progressing yourself. I would love it for someone to tell me I am making the wrong decision rather than going down a path that could lead me to destruction and harm. If someone takes the time to worry about you and your decisions, it means that they want the best for you. That is if they aren’t being snotty about it and picking out the dust in your eye while they have a plank in theirs. But that’s a story for another time and place!

The second quote is probably my favorite. Tick, tock, tick, tock. The clock never stops but one day we will. To some, death is a very scary thing because it can be filled with many uncertainty’s and to others, it is simply another passage to something better. But I think I can generalize that we have all feared that we were wasting our time at one point or another. It is important that we invest our time into lives that matter to us and things that bring us joy. What is the point in giving your time to someone who does not give anything back? To me, spending my time with those I love means I have accomplished everything I need to. I am not someone with huge dreams that involve a large career and fame and fortune, I am more of a small time dreamer. The day that I find out that I have less time than I think, if I have spent my life loving everyone with every piece of me and never expected anything back, than I would have spent my time right. My heart is the biggest gift I could give those around me because with that comes appreciation, feelings of self-worth and love to those surrounding me. I hope that the people I encounter carry a piece of my heart everywhere they go.

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

